Faculty Members Evaluation

 

Introduction:

 

At the beginning of the fall semester, each faculty member receives a form that constitutes his/her annual plan of performance in the three areas of academic activity: teaching, research, and community service. The form specifies the components of each performance area and the rubrics by which they are evaluated. Faculty members submit their annual plan to the Department Head or Dean within two weeks from receiving the annual plan form.

 

A month before the end of the academic year, faculty members are required to submit a record of their actual performance to the Department Head who conducts evaluation of the faculty member’s performance and submits it to the Dean for final assessment.

 

Faculty members keep documented evidence of their academic performance in the Instructor’s Portfolio which should be continuously updated throughout each semester.

 

During the academic year, faculty members are expected to be involved in the following activities: teaching, research, and university and community service. These activities reflect the faculty’s contribution to the department, college and university. The significance of faculty participation in each of the above mentioned activities may vary from one activity to another. The total contribution in all activities, however, will be used to assess faculty overall performance.

 

Contract Renewal

 

According to AAU’s comprehensive evaluation process, the faculty member is evaluated by the students, Department Head, and College Dean. While students assess the faculty member’s teaching performance, evaluations written by the Department Head and the College Dean have a more comprehensive and detailed scope where they assess the faculty member’s teaching, serving at committees of different levels, university and community service, as well as research activities.

 

Based on the overall performance evaluation, AAU makes the decision whether or not to renew the faculty member’s contract.

تقييم أعضاء هيئة التدريس

 

مقدمة

 

مع بداية الفصل الدراسي الأول، يتلقى كل عضو من هيئة التدريس نموذجاً يشكل خطته/خطتها السنوية للأداء في المجالات الثلاثة من النشاط الأكاديمي: التدريس والبحث والتفاعل مع المجتمع. ويحدد النموذج مكونات كل من مجالات الأداء ونماذج التقييم المستخدمة. ويقدم أعضاء هيئة التدريس الخطة السنوية لرئيس القسم أو عميد الكلية خلال أسبوعين من استلام النموذج.

 

وقبل نهاية العام الأكاديمي بشهر، على أعضاء هيئة التدريس أن يقدموا سجلاً لأدائهم الفعلي لرئيس القسم والذي يقيّم أداء عضو هيئة التدريس قبل تقديم التقرير إلى العميد من أجل التقييم النهائي.

ويحتفظ أعضاء هيئة التدريس بأدلة موثقة عن أدائهم الأكاديمي في ملف عضو هيئة التدريس والذي عليهم تحديثه أولاً بأول خلال الفصل الدراسي.

 

وخلال الفصل الدراسي، يتوقع من عضو هيئة التدريس أن يشارك بالأنشطة التالية: التدريس، البحث العلمي، وخدمة الجامعة والمجتمع، إذ تعكس هذه الأنشطة مدى مساهمته في القسم، والكلية، والجامعة. وقد تختلف أهمية مشاركة عضو هيئة التدريس في كل من الأنشطة السابقة الذكر من نشاط لآخر وفق طبيعته، إلا أن مجموع الأنشطة بشكل عام يلعب دوراً عند تقييم أداء عضو هيئة التدريس بشكل عام.

 

تجديد العقد

 

وفق عملية التقييم الشاملة المعتمدة في جامعة العين للعلوم والتكنولوجيا، يتم تقييم عضو هيئة التدريس من قبل الطلبة، ورئيس القسم، والعميد، فبينما يقيّم الطلبة أداء عضو هيئة التدريس في العملية التدريسية، تأخذ التقييمات الواردة من رئيس القسم وعميد الكلية منحىً شمولياً وتفصيلياً أكثر إذ يتم تقييم كفاءة عضو هيئة التدريس في العملية التدريسية، وفعالية خدمته في اللجان من مستويات عدة، وخدمة الجامعة، والتفاعل مع المجتمع، ومستوى أنشطته البحثية.

 

وبناءً على التقييم العام للأداء، تقرّر الجامعة ما إذا كان سيتم تجديد عقد عضو هيئة التدريس المعني للاستمرار بالعمل في الجامعة أم لا.