Al Ain University of Science and Technology was established in 2004, received the first batch in 2005 and started with three colleges in Al Ain: the College of Engineering, the College of Business and the College of Education, Humanities and Social Sciences. AAU expanded its facility by opening its campus at Abu Dhabi in 2008 with both business and law colleges.

Al Ain University continued its academic development by offering 15 undergraduate programs through six colleges: the College of Engineering, Pharmacy, Law, Education, Humanities and Social Sciences, Business, and the College of Communication and Media. It also offered 7 Master’s programs, in addition to the Professional Diploma in Teaching.

The university is constantly seeking to obtain international accreditation from the finest international educational bodies, whereas, the College of Engineering has obtained the international accreditation from the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET), the College of Pharmacy has obtained the international certification from the American-based Accreditation Council of Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the College of Law received full accreditation from the Supreme Council for Evaluation, Research and Higher Education in France (HCERES).